There are two types of Duty of Candour

  1. Statutory: This is the legal requirement to report serious and untoward incidents, such as death and severe harm and clearly specified in the regulation. This has a higher threshold and is appropriate only where serious harm has occurred
  2. Professional/Ethical: Most professional bodies have set out codes of conduct that any incident should be subject to a Duty of Candour, even if it has not resulted in serious harm. This has a much lower threshold, and covers any unexpected incident that is of concern or causes harm or distress

Primary Care Networks (PCNs)

Partnered with the NAPC, the largest PCN network in England


NAPC logo large

The leading independent resource for CQC compliance

home who reads us
If you are part of an NHS body or a Membership or Regulatory organisation, you may qualify to use our products as a Reference Standard.