The CQC have outlined three types of inspections that wil be carried out. These are:

1. Comprehensive Inspections (Planned Inspections)

  • How frequently you are inspected, the size of the inspection team and whether or not you get notice of inspection depends on the nature of the Service provision and organisation.
  • The CQC call their new Inspection model under KLOEs a Comprehensive Inspection.

2. Focused Inspections (formerly known as follow-up inspections)

  • To look at something that is of concern; usually after an improvement notice has been issued after a previous CQC visit.
  • Focused inspections are carried out to check that compliance actions have been implemented
  • These are smaller in scale than comprehensive inspections, although they follow a similar process.
  • Generally a notice of the inspection will not be given (GP practices however still get notice of inspection)

3. Responsive Inspection

  • These are carried out when concerns are raised over a provider’s compliance with the standards. (Information may come sources such as a whistle blower, the CCG, the GMC or a member of the public.)

Primary Care Networks (PCNs)

Partnered with the NAPC, the largest PCN network in England


NAPC logo large

The leading independent resource for CQC compliance

home who reads us
If you are part of an NHS body or a Membership or Regulatory organisation, you may qualify to use our products as a Reference Standard.